Wolfgang Baumann Elected TAFISA President

13/06/2022 14:47

ICSSPE's former Vice-President and TAFISA Secretary General Wolfgang Baumann has been elected as TAFISA's new President for the years 2022-2025 at the 27th TAFISA World Congress in Portorož, Slovenia. The Association for International Sport for All (TAFISA) is an ICSSPE member. 


Wolfgang Baumann held various positions at the German Sports Confederation (DSB) - one of the predecessor organisations of the DOSB - from 1986 to 2005, including deputy secretary general and managing director for mass sports, before taking up the position of TAFISA secretary general. He has been a member of the IOC Sport and Active Society Commission since 2011, and was also a member of the IOC Coordination Committee Olympic Winter Games 2018 and the EU High Level Working Group on European Grassroot Sports 2016. 



He held the position of Vice President of the International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE) until 2021. He is also a guest lecturer at private universities in Seeburg, Austria, Mannheim and Heidelberg.


The TAFISA General Assembly also elected the TAFISA Board of Directors for 2022-2025.

The composition of the new Board is as follows: 

TAFISA Treasurer

  • Mr Janez Sodržnik, Olympic Committee of Slovenia – Association of Sports Federations, Slovenia

TAFISA Vice-Presidents

  • Africa - Ms Keenese Neoyame Katisenge, Botswana National Sport Commission, Botswana
  • Americas - Ms Catherine Forde, Trinidad & Tobago Olympic Committee, Trinidad & Tobago
  • Asia - Mr Herzel Hagay, Israel Sport for All Association, Israel
  • Europe - Mr Denis Karakasis, Ministry of Culture and Sport, Greece
  • Oceania - Ms Cathy Wong, Fiji National Sports Commission, Fiji

TAFISA Board Members - National Members

  • Dr. Wanshik Hong, Sport for All Korea Association, Korea
  • Ms Jacqueline Kronenburg, Knowledge Centre for Sport and Physical Activity, Netherlands
  • Mr Max Tamazawa, TAFISA Japan, Japan
  • Mr Marco Tomasini, Federazione Italiana Sport e Giochi Tradizionali (FIGeST), Italy

TAFISA Board Members - International Members

  • Ms Fiona Johnson, International Dance Organisation, Slovenia

TAFISA Board Members - Supporter Members

  • Prof. Keith George, Liverpool John Moores University, England

TAFISA Secretary General (ex officio)

  • Mr Jean-François Laurent, France


Head to the TAFISA website for all the news.