IOC Women in Sport Awards Presented

07/11/2011 08:40


The 2011 Women and Sport Award trophies were recently presented by the International Olympic Committee (IOC).


The following individuals, as well as one organisation, who, according to the awards jury, have made outstanding effort to enhance participation, development and involvement of women and young girls in sport, received the awards:


  • IOC World Trophy: Tegla Loroupe (Kenya);
  • IOC Trophy for Africa: Nadouvi Lawson Body (Togo);
  • IOC Trophy for the Americas: The Women and Sport Commission of the Ecuadorian Olympic Committe;
  • IOC Trophy for Asia: Narin Hajtass (Jordan);
  • IOC Trophy for Europe: Sema Kasapoglu (Turkey);
  • IOC Trophy for Oceania: Daphne Pirie (Australia).


The award ceremony was held on Olympic Day, which was established in 1948 to commemorate the birth of the modern Olympic Games on 23 June, 1894. The Day promotes participation in sport, regardless of age, gender or athletic ability.


To learn more about the profiles and achievements of the awardees, please click here


For more information on the 2011 Women in Sport Awards or Olympic Day, please visit